Face Your Fears.

Alright, so with 2012 literally just around the corner, I thought it was only appropriate to reevaluate a few things about my dating life (or lack of). I mean, yes, I am talking to “Joe” and it’s all dandy but let’s just say I want to know what it’s like to DATE. You know, like meet multiple people…. and without being such a puss about it. I’ve done the whole relationship thing and I just want to experience dating before I get stuck — I mean, locked up; no that’s not right either. I just want to date around before I fall in love again. I don’t think that is unreasonable.

My friend actually gave me an interesting challenge not too long ago: Go on two dates, with two different guys, on the same day.

Holy shit. Well that just seems impossible. I initially laughed at the proposition and I am still baffled over how she was able to pull that stunt off back in her dating days. I mean, not only was she able to score two free meals, she was actually able to get two different guys to show interest in her, and she didn’t completely butcher the situation by mixing up their names! But, then I thought about it: Why wouldn’t I be capable of such a thing? It would at least make a great story. So, I decided I’m going to be a little more open about this whole dating thing and not be so negative about it. And, since the website I am using decided to renew my subscription (actually I am just a dumbass and didn’t cancel before the automatic renewal) I am going to try to meet some new people. I have actually already started and started talking to a couple guys that seem nice. Maybe that two date thing isn’t impossible for me.

It has also been brought to my attention that I am just an intimidating and/or intense person, but it wasn’t until very recently that I actually realized my own antics. Ok, so I get it. But my thing is, a guy can either hang or he can’t. Right? I mean, if he actually tried and got through the walls I currently have up, he’d realize I’m actually a fantastic catch.
Which brings me to my second little New Years resolution: Work on those walls!

I know it’s not fair to have them up, but I am just protecting myself. And part of me just wants to meet a guy that cares enough to try and figure me out. Is that horribly selfish of me? Probably. But I can at least promise myself not to completely shut people out, and to fight the urge of running away a little better, when it’s obvious that someone is willing to at least try.

It’s probably just the holidays that are making me a little cynical. So let’s turn this frown upside down and make it into something positive: When all my friends are too busy sucking face with their significant others tonight at midnight, I call dibs on all their neglected champagne glasses!

Cheers to that!

One thought on “Face Your Fears.

  1. w9 form says:

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

Leave a Reply

