Third Time’s The Charm

After much thought, and an obnoxiously large amount of deliberating, I decided that going on a third date with “Joe” would be a good idea.

I think I made the right decision.

But let’s back track for a second: I am not the best when it comes to dating. In fact it terrifies me. Yep, I’m one of those girls that found herself in back to back long relationships (cue sob story music for shitty ex boyfriends) and therefore have no real experience with actual “dating”. Then I went on my long overdue Miss Independent stomp across the greater Los Angeles area. And THEN I decided I was ready to maybe try out dating — only to result in a panic that crippled me to the floor so fast that I realized I was probably a little more damaged than I cared to admit. Ok, maybe not damaged, but much much much more cautious than I used to be. So when it came to date #3, I found myself in a bit of a battle against myself. Part of me wanted to run away and hide, and the other part of me was way too curious to let the opportunity pass me by. I also had my trusty girlfriend to remind me of how happy I was after our last date. What happened to that version of me?

So I left it up to him.

If he could remember that we talked about going out again, I would. But I wasn’t going to say a word about it. Sure enough, he remembered and asked me if I was still up for it, so I said sure.

Well, let’s just say this guy knows me pretty well for not really knowing me (and I am not even sure if he is aware of how spot on he is). City lights on a Monday night is more than enough to make me swoon a bit (ok, a lot). He even remembered to call me on my birthday, which resulted in a big goofy grin and my girl friends getting way over excited over seeing me smile about a guy.

And now, supposedly, he wants to take me snowboarding, where I am positive I will proceed to kill myself on the side of a mountain. Hopefully he doesn’t mind cleaning up the mess.

Tip #7: Actions speak louder than words. If you say you’re going to do something, do it. It might lead to a fun new adventure.

4 thoughts on “Third Time’s The Charm

  1. Linda Flores says:

    Love it, hope your ski trip happens and he keeps swooning you as you very much deserve!

  2. Pete Howorth says:

    Ooooh good luck on the date! Watch out skiing, I broke several bones in the lower lower back region doing that, although that was also in part to me having no clue how to slow down and my friends finding it funny not to tell me. I saw four year olds zipping by me so it may just be my inabilities 😀

    Have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

